SECTION 6 — FOUL IN GOAL
Article 1 — Foul In Own Goal
If Team A commits a foul while in possession of the ball in its Goal Area, the penalty shall be applied from PLS or option.
EXCEPTIONS: Intentional Grounding — Rule 6, Section 4, Article 7
Offside Pass — Rule 6, Section 3, Article 4
Safety Touch — Rule 3, Section 2, Article 3
- If Team B commits a foul in its Goal Area while in possession of the ball in its Goal Area, Team A may elect to:
- accept the one or two point score, if applicable, or,
- decline the penalty and accept the play as it terminated or,
- decline the score and require the penalty to be applied against Team B from its 10-yard line.
If the foul is committed outside the Goal Area while Team B is in possession of the ball in its Goal Area, the penalty shall be applied from Team B's 10-yard line or option.
EXCEPTION: See interception in Goal Area — Rule 6, Section 4, Article 12, and recovery of opponent's fumble in Goal Area — Rule 1, Section 9, Article 7.
Article 2 — Foul In Opponent's Goal
If a team commits a foul in the opponent's Goal Area, the penalty shall be applied as though the foul had occurred in the Field of Play. However, where a yardage penalty would otherwise be applicable in the Goal Area, it shall be applied as follows:
- If the foul occurs before a score is made, the score shall be disallowed and the penalty shall be applied from the 10-yard line.
- If the foul occurs after a score is made, the score shall count and the penalty shall be applied from the point where the ball is next put into play. If the scoring play was a touchdown, the non-offending team may elect to have the penalty applied on the convert or subsequent kickoff.
- If foul occurs after interception in Goal Area, see Rule 6, Section 4, Article 12.
- If Team A makes an offside pass in Team B's Goal Area in the act of completing a forward pass (i.e. the ball is touched by an eligible Team A receiver in Team B's Goal Area and deflected in an offside direction, where it is caught by another Team A player who is not eligible as a receiver), the pass shall be ruled as caught by the second Team A player at the point where it was touched by the first Team A player.