Restrictions in Formation and Movement of Kicking Team Players on Punts

On scrimmage plays in which Team A punts the ball across the line of scrimmage, the interior block of five ineligible players may not advance beyond the Scrimmage Zone until the ball is kicked.

Rule 4.5.3 – (page 36) - Identification & Positions

Rule 5.4.8 (new) – (page 45) - Illegally Downfield on a Kick

Five yard No Yards Penalty

Penalty will automatically be applied at PBD or PPG (whichever is better).

Rule 5.4.1(c) (page 43)

Illegal Contact by Receivers and Defenders Prior to a Pass Being Thrown

New restrictions limiting where and how Receivers and Defenders may contact each other are defined.

Rule 6.4.8 (page 50) - Interference Before a Pass is Thrown

Line of Scrimmage on Converts

Two point convert attempts will be scrimmaged from the 3 yard line, and 1 point convert attempts will be scrimmaged from the 25 yard line.

Mandatory two point attempts in overtime will be scrimmaged on the 3 yard line.

Rule 1.8 (page 19) – TIE GAME

Rule 3.2.5 (page 31) – Convert

Rule 6.4.9 (page 51) – Team B Interference (iii)

Rule 8.5.1 (page 63) – Foul on Convert

Kickoff Going Out of Bounds

Removed the option to have Team A re-kick.

Rule 5.2.2(b) (page 41)

Request for Measurement

Removed the ability of captains (and coaches) to request a measurement if the ball is within one yard of the first down marker.

Rule 1, 6 (page 15) – Team Captains

Rule 2, 2, 2 (Page 27) – The Referee

Eligibility of Slot Backs

Removed the restriction of slot backs having to be five yards outside the tackle at the snap to remain eligible.

Rule 6.4.4 (page 49) – Eligibility of Receiver – NOTE

NOTE: All 2015 rule changes have been printed in bold throughout the Rule Book.


In searchable permalink form

Tips on Linking to the Rulebook
Table of Contents

CFLdb is in need of a copy of the CFL 2012 and 2014 Rulebook. If you can loan/provide an electronic copy/sell/help, please contact me.

You are reading the 2015 version of the rulebook. Other available versions of this page are:


Converted to the web by CFLdb. An Adobe Acrobat PDF of the current version is available.

The original source of the version presently being viewed is © Copyright 2015 Canadian Football League

Publication Credits

Content compiled and entered by Glen Johnson and Andre Proulx

The CFL Official Rule Book is published annually by the Canadian Football League. Any inquiries regarding the CFL Official Playing Rules may be directed to Glen Johnson, Vice-President, Officiating @ gjohnson@cfl.ca.